Tea… a view from above

For starters WordPress informed me that I’m celebrating my first anniversary here :-)  Yeaj!  One year of blogging.
Thanks guys for bringing it to my attention, I wasn’t counting… Force of habit I guess, I stopped counting birthdays when I turned 50.  It has something to do with me being an absolute failure in math ;-)

OK, time for a new picture.
Have taken a lot of them these past few days. The light was nice here in Belgium and the sun was so kind to shine into my room, so…
And then there was this mission from Kim Klassen to shoot from above for Beyond Beyond.

Once again it struck me how my dslr photography differs from my i-Phone “art” (art?).  With my phone it’s almost natural to shoot from above, with the big girl camera however, it seems much less comfortable.
Actually, it isn’t…  You have to get high, or the subject low, I’m not good at balancing with that heavy piece of equipment and I never thought of digging holes as a real good option… so my set up is much, much more work.  Got to get the tripod installed with that horizontal bar, need some weight to prevent it from topping over (it doesn’t, but as I’m kind of a control person, I don’t take the risk…).   In case you wonder: I use a door stopper as a weight feature.
In short, I guess you could also call me lazy as far as shooting from above with my dslr is concerned.

It was a difficult choice to make, between easter stuff coming up, and spring flowers all over the place… but in the end, I came up with… a Tea-picture.  Here it is:

img 1991-voyage autour du the

How it was made?

I selected a small bowl that has something to do with tea (see the inscription in the bowl);
Put the bowl on a chair with an old finishing;
Took some dried Linden tea leafs, put them in the bowl, scattered them all over the place and started shooting.

Next stop: Lightroom where the only thing I did was a little cropping.
Then into Photoshop and instead of sugar, I added Kim’s texture Yesteryear to the tea, 2 cubes – sorry, layers – one soft light (100%) and one multiply (26%).
A little tweaking was necessary to bring out the tea leafs better, meaning I brushed the texture off and adapted the color with the paintbrush so that it blended better with the creamy tones.
Added my signature and that’s it.

Hope you like it and enjoy your tea .-)
Marl1een.

2 thoughts on “Tea… a view from above

  1. A fun post to read about your options, iphone vs slr, standing on stool vs digging a hole… Your photo is wonderful…love the colors and the tea scattered about. Congratulations on 1 year with WordPress.

  2. I recognize the linden blossoms! My Grappa said his mother used to wait for the Linden trees to bloom in July and go and pick the blossoms. Then they’d dry them for tea the rest of the year. Very light tea. They also thought that honey made from Linden blossoms was the very best–the bee keepers keep that honey for themselves it’s so sweet!

Leave a Reply

