Paris, here I come

No, not Hilton… just, well, Paris…, you know, the city… in France… Europe…

Today, 14/08 – 9.30 am we step on the Thalys and head for 4 days in the light city.
It’s so close to home, only 2 1/2 hours by train, and we’ve only been there once, an incentive trip a lifetime ago. You sure know those trips… 1 hour here, get back in time there.  We spent 1 hour at Montmartre and a who-ooole evening at the Lido…??!! On top of that, it was on July 14th and the whole city was filled with snipers, from the sewers to the rooftops, to protect the president during the parade.

Now it is said that in August, Paris is half asleep.  Its inhabitants leave on holiday, a lot of shops could be closed, which is a good thing for a shopaholic like me.
But, it also means there are no construction workers in the street making noise with all kinds of machines, there’s less traffic… everything gets calmer.
Paris s’endort…

Me and my husband plan to visit the classic things.  One just has to smile back at the Mona Lisa at least once in a lifetime, right?
Visit the Louvre with its glass pyramid-entrance (as seen in The Da Vinci Code) and Les Tuileries (our hotel is situated right in front of this magnificent garden).

But everything has a backside, and for me that’s packing… a “packside”… No matter how exciting the trip, I just hate that and I always carry too much.  I read Susannah Conway’s packing story and totally recognized it.
Carry too much, not wearing half of it, ever. Clothes for rainy weather, dry weather, cold weather, freezing weather, windy weather… no matter where I go…  I’d even invent weather types if I could.
I take medicine with me for diseases no-one will probably ever catch, and then there’s shoes…
Last year I took 18 pairs of shoes with me to the Provence, bought 3 pair over there and wore 5, max!

Normally we travel by car, now we catch the train and I definitely plan to travel light, which put me in the dilemma: do I take a dslr with me, or not? I know that, however good the i-Phone cam is, and the quality of my Canon G12 has never let me down yet, I would regret not having taken the big one… so, it’s packed!  So far for traveling light….
I hope to bring some nice images with me, which brings me to the next problem I have with holidays: processing photos…  The pictures from our trip to the isle of Texel (Holland) this June are still waiting patiently on my hard drive…
Time, time… where does it go?  Sometimes I think that the world started turning much quicker but nobody checked it so far……….

See you in a few days or here on Instagram… that is, if technique and wifi won’t let me down this time….

Au revoir!

7 thoughts on “Paris, here I come

  1. I’m so jealous! I love Paris. I’ve been there 4 times and want to go back. Enjoy it! Looking forward to more Paris stories.

    • Hello again! I’m back home! Thanks for your lovely words. My i-Phone photos are already online – kept a day by day photo diary (so fun!), but now the other ones….
      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Fantastic I love going on the train, I understand about packing though. And before Kindle it was books with me …..

Leave a Reply

