Futuristic History

Or is it Historic Future? Or Both?

A couple of weeks ago, while cleaning closets, I found a bunch of film rolls.  All expired.
My first reaction was to throw them away as I work(ed) only digital and I no longer have my analogue gear.  But there was a little voice inside my head saying “I wouldn’t do that if I were you…”.  As I am very obedient (my husband will disagree, but we don’t ask him, do we?…) I listened to this voice.

Shortly after that “discovery” I made another one: lomography, not in the least through the beautiful pictures of Shimmering Grains – a special thanks! –  (visit her fantastic images: click here).  Plus in one of my favorite magazines, “Flow”, I read an article about photographer Jena Ardell.  She makes Polaroid images and also works with… you guessed it… expired film.  I instantly fell in love with the silkiness of those images…
I’m not only obedient but also quite curious.  I wanted to try that!
So, last Saturday I bought me a little Sardina, it was on sale, double pleasure!

May I present to you: Domino (the name of the little Sardina cam, which I quite like, as it also reminds me of a song of my favorite Belgium pop group).

4 thoughts on “Futuristic History

  1. Congrats Marleen, and thank you ever so much for your kind kind words!
    You know what, it is my highest goal with my blog, to inspire others to discover or rediscover the fantastic beauty in creating your photographic art work with analog camera and film.
    I’m so happy for you, and I wish you all the luck with your wonderful little new friend!
    And I just LOVE your Sardina animation, it is fantastic!!! I’m in awe!!
    Have a nice Sunday evening, and I can’t wait to see your results!!
    Hugs
    Marie

    • Thanks Marie! I hope the little sardine can (sorry, cam) :) will give me hours of pleasure! I might try it today for the first time, have put a little role of 12 pics in it, just for trying. And then to the lab and that good “old fashioned” feeling of waiting for the results…. a kind of romantic feel that is totally non existent with digital.
      I guess I’m a romantic soul after all ;-)
      Have a nice day!

  2. Mooie animatie, Marleen, ik had nog nooit van ‘Sardina’ gehoord !
    Goed dat je de filmrolletjes niet weggedaan hebt, ik hou altijd vanalles bij, ik heb er echt moeite mee met dingen weggooien, mijn man vindt dit minder fijn :-)
    Fijne week,
    Sylvia

    • Dank je Sylvia. Ik tot voor een paar maanden ook niet, maar het zijn zulke leuke dingen.

      Ik kan ook niks weggooien, mijn man krijgt er de kriebels van :-) Het is zover gekomen dat hij zelfs vraagt of hij verwelkte bloemen mag weggooien, of mag snoeien in de tuin of “moet je er nog iets mee doen?”…. het antwoord is meestal “Nnneeeennn! Nie wegdoen!!”
      Ik houd honderdeneen spullen bij, pluimpjes, schelpjes, steentjes, oude doosjes, kraaltjes, labeltjes….. Voor mijn man is het een hoop “rommel”.
      En, wanneer ik dan toch eens al mijn moed bijeen raap en dingen weggooi, dan kan je er donder op zeggen dat ik ze een paar weken later voor iets kon gebruiken.

      Tot snel! Geniet van je dag.
      Marleen

Leave a Reply

