Things about me you always wanted to know…

but never dared to ask… :-)

Until Kim came along.  The picture I chose for Texture Tuesday of 29/05  with the theme “Warmth” goes nicely with it, so, enjoy!

  1. I’m an absolute chocolate addict.  I even keep a t-shirt with “chocolate lover” on it that doesn’t fit me anymore (no idea how that happened…)
  2. Another of my vices is that I’m a shopaholic and my husband knows it.  He’s too good to be true as he even points out nice things to me.  Maybe he’s a secret shopaholic too, but reflects it on me…
  3. I’m a perfectionist in such a way that it tends to slow me down, except for eating chocolate and shopping.
  4. I’m a rather good cook when I put my mind to it, which I rarely do as I hate the process.
  5. I have very bad eye-sight.  Left I’m legally blind (I’m legally blond too), need an operation for which I’m terrified.
  6. I’m afraid of thunder and even more of lightning – I inherrited this from my mom I guess.
  7. Actually, I’m afraid of many things.  On nr 1 of my “frightening” list is Flying.  No planes anymore for me, thank you.  If you want to get me on a plane, knock me out first (I should hang a label with that inscription around my neck…)
  8. I hope Kim won’t mind my copying this one: “My son can take me from zero to crazy in about 3 seconds – But I love him madly” (our son is 28 and still living at hotel Mama – he thinks it’s a 6* place, all inclusive…)
  9. I’m a book addict too, need to buy a book shell soon.  There are books swarming all over the place now, mainly on photography, flowers, cooking (!! see pt.4)
  10. I’ve recently fallen madly in love with cups, but rarely use them.  Not for drinking, not for photographing – strange!  In my mind however there are hundreds of photographs with cups.  Come to think of it, need to buy a cupboard too…..
  11. I’ve always liked to be quiet, reading somewhere, not too much people around me, away from the noise or maddening crowds.  No real close friends either, but lately I think that having some would be nice.
  12. My age, 55, puts me in that strange transition period.  I don’t mind the years, but I hate the stuff that comes with them, especially those terrible hot flushes!
  13. I talk to my dad most every day and when I’m down I ask him for help.  There are always flowers next to his picture.  My dad passed away when I was 19.  I’m glad he has known my husband (still my first in 32 years) but sad that he didn’t know his grandson.
  14. I love my mom, who needs my help in many ways, and try to catch up for the time I lost when I was working way too long, too hard before the burn-out hit me.
  15. I adore my husband.  I think heaven sent him down as some kind of angel who had a special training course, so he can put up with me!

Kim asked 10, but while writing and thinking I got carried away, it’s fun!  When I first read the “mission” though, I thought: how am I going to find 10 things about me….

But now I’m off for a lovely piece of belgian chocolate….. mmmm……

Interested in the processing of the picture? (that’s a self b.t.w.) : KK’s Sunday texture at soft light, 18%.  So very little, but without it, it lacked light and spirit. It had a warm 85 filter in PS at 44 % opacity added and a little gausian blur in overlay (7 px – 66 % opacity). I also added a touch of vignette blur.

 

18 thoughts on “Things about me you always wanted to know…

  1. Thanks so much for visiting and leaving a comment! Make your list, it’s fun! I’m looking forward to read it! Have a nice evening.

  2. Great list; it’s wonderful God sent you an angel. Pay close attention…you’ll wake up in five years and wonder where the last five (actually 10) years went! Happened to me!

  3. Yours are fun! Love how chocolate is layered into several points – kind of like a cake. Love your selfie! I can’t get one to look at all good.

    • Thanks for your visit Beverly! Love your “cake”-comparison :-)
      About the selfie, trust me, I hate every picture of myself, that’s why I became a photographer, so I can hide behind the gear, at least behind a dslr – you won’t catch me with such an itsy pitsy Ixus :-))
      Seriously, I seldom like pictures of myself, but lacking willing models (my husband got tired of it and my son just hates it), I sometimes force myself into the “model”-role. And “me” is the only one I’m relaxed enough with to get something reasonably acceptable on the sensor.
      And I just noticed this could be Truth nr 16 :-))
      Have a very nice day and looking forward to read your list with a self!! ;-)

  4. Isn’t this fun?! It is so interesting to learn about each other this way. Kim is awesome to think of it.
    I forgot to add in mine that I hate flying also. I have to take a Xanax and drink the whole way. LOL

    ♥charlotte

    • That flying thing is really terrible and it grew worse. The last time I got on a plane was in 2000. I needed an anti-anxiety medicine too, together with a glass of white wine (I never drink b.t.w. – that’s truth nr 17!). I fell asleep the moment I sat down on the plane, and they had to wake me up at touch down in Senegal! I’m not kidding here. It was my best flight ever and the only one my husband didn’t have blue arms from pinching him :-)

  5. Number 11. Same here. We could be friends. ha.
    Love the post and your photo IS very warm.
    I have a bad eye, too. Scared, too. It is rough doing what we do when we can not see as well as we would like. I guess that is why I am working as fast as I can, while I still can.
    Nice to get to know you.

    Bobbie

    • Dag Sylvia, ja ik ben een beetje aan de late kant met deze reactie… sorry! Ook even met vakantie geweest, dus.
      Maar wat die boeken betreft, jij hebt bijna geen plaats meer – ik heb géén plaats meer !! Erg eh! Ik zeg wel, nieuwe kasten, maar ik zou beter een nieuw, groter huis kopen :-)))

    • Oeps Bobbie, I guess I sent the wrong reply here (pushed the wrong arrow). sorry for that as well as being so late! Thanks so much for your kind words. I wish you all the luck with the eye. Nice to know you too.

  6. Fijn om al deze dingen over jou te lezen, Marleen !
    Ik hou ook van chocolade en ik ben ook verslaafd aan boeken … bijna geen plaats meer :-)
    Fijne avond,
    Sylvia

    • Dag Sylvia, ja ik ben een beetje aan de late kant met deze reactie… sorry! Ook even met vakantie geweest, dus.
      Maar wat die boeken betreft, jij hebt bijna geen plaats meer – ik heb géén plaats meer !! Erg eh! Ik zeg wel, nieuwe kasten, maar ik zou beter een nieuw, groter huis kopen :-)))

    • Thanks Betty for your visit and your comment. Yep, Belgium chocolates are great! But, I won’t leave a nice piece of Swiss Toblerone untouched either :-) Or a brownie from Starbuck’s.
      I just love sweet things! And when I was young I could eat tons of the stuff and still stayed a skinny little girl – till I turned 45, a kilo a year, just like that. That makes it harder to stay away from all those sweet goodies… I guess I’m just not used to dieting. Thanks for loving my photos too, that makes me happy!

  7. Dropping by from Beyond Layers — loved reading your ten truths, they were just like your picture, sweet, fun and warm. Thank you so much for sharing!

  8. I am from Behind the Scenes. You have a really interesting layout. I am going to be watching it to see how it goes forward. Your photo is exceedingly nice.

Leave a Reply

