Primavera

It looks like I’m a bit behind here! So I’ve got some catching up to do.

Kim Klassen’s Texture tuesday of last week (24/04/12) was “simple” and about using one of her new textures Oh My or Let Go.  I chose to combine it with a texture of my  own, that I simply named “pinky” and that I used to give the image that aquarel-page-texture.

Primavera

This little apple blossom is from one of the trees in our garden –  my husband gave me permission to cut one off (1)  (wouldn’t like to miss too many apples!) – put into a little jar that has the inscription “quattro stagioni” on it.  And while I was making the picture I thought it would be a nice idea to create a mini series with this jar and make a photograph of every season with a flower or plant representing the time of year.  So next one will be “L’estate” (summer).

After all, “Every season has its certainties” ;-)

3 thoughts on “Primavera

  1. Hi Marleen, My name is Laura and I am in your Beyond Layers Class. After reading your whole blog, I had to tell you how much I love this image and appreciate how you ‘had’ to get started on your blog. I too, am a perfectionist, and therefore a procrastinator of the most refined ilk (grin.. that sounds like my dad, whoa.) Reading your whole blog, I have already seen an encouraging change; The creative spark to do a mini-series on a simple, beautiful focus. It’s such a great idea. It’s so hard for me to do things, simply. Thank you for writing.

    • Hello Laura. Thank you so much for visiting, reading, commenting and liking
      .
      Could it be that many perfectionists are procrastinators? I don’t know, but I wouldn’t be surprised. I put things off too, even this blog and I love to write! But I think we do it out of fear of not being able to do what we have to do in a perfect way. If we are not sure we can do it perfectly, we rather not do it at all…. It makes sense to me.
      I also think that perfectionists rarely do things in a “simple” way and aren’t able to “simply” do. We keep thinking about it, keep changing things – even details – in search of the perfect result (which doesn’t exist, by the way). So, in short, we are always in the pursuit of the impossible…

      I try to change, the burn-out made my life a lot slower last year, which I consider a good thing. But the road is still long, I have to hit the breaks a few times a day ;-)

      Take care Laura, good is good enough :-)
      (where can I find your work in Beyond Layers? On Flickr? Do you have a blog?)

Leave a Reply

